Agenda - Reform Bill Committee

Meeting Venue: For further information contact:

Committee Room 1, Senedd Helen Finlayson

Meeting date: Thursday, 18 April 2024 Committee Clerk

Meeting time: 09.15 0300 200 6565

SeneddReform@senedd.wales

Hybrid

1 Introductions, apologies, substitutions, and declarations of interest

(09.15)

2 Papers to note

(09.15)

2.1 Letter from the Finance Committee to the Senedd Commission regarding the financial implications of the Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists) Bill – 18 March 2024

(Pages 1 – 2)

2.2 Letter from the Minister for Social Justice and Chief Whip to the Reform Bill
 Committee regarding the Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists) Bill – 19
 March 2024

(Page 3)

2.3 Letter to the Llywydd regarding the Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists)
Bill – 22 March 2024

(Pages 4 – 5)



3 Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists) Bill: Evidence session with the Expert Panel on Assembly Electoral Reform

(09.15–10.15) (Pages 6 – 16)

Professor Laura McAllister, Chair of the Expert Panel on Assembly Electoral Reform

Professor Rosie Campbell, Member of the Expert Panel on Assembly Electoral Reform

Professor Sarah Childs, Member of the Expert Panel on Assembly Electoral Reform

Supporting document

Research brief

Break (10.15-10.30)

4 Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists) Bill: Evidence session with electoral reform organisations

(10.30–11.30) (Pages 17 – 32)

Hannah Stevens, Chief Executive, Elect Her Jemima Olchawski, Chief Executive, Fawcett Society

Supporting documents

Paper 1 Written evidence: Fawcett Society

Research brief

Break (11.30-11.45)

5 Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists) Bill: Evidence session with the Electoral Commission's Welsh Parliament Parties Panel

(11.45–12.45) (Pages 33 – 46)

Geraint Day, Deputy Chief Executive, Plaid Cymru Tom James, Director, Welsh Conservatives Joanna McIntyre, General Secretary, Welsh Labour

Supporting documents

Paper 2 Written evidence: Welsh Labour

Research brief

Lunch (12.45-13.30)

6 Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists) Bill: Evidence session with academics

(13.30–14.30) (Pages 47 – 74)

Professor Meryl Kenny, University of Edinburgh

Professor Mona Lena Krook, Rutgers University

Professor Rainbow Murray, Queen Mary University of London

Dr Larissa Peixoto Vale Gomes, University of Edinburgh

Supporting documents

Paper 3 Written evidence: Professor Meryl Kenny

Paper 4 Written evidence: Dr Larissa Peixoto Vale Gomes

Research brief

7 Motion under Standing Order 17.42 (ix) to exclude the public from the remainder of the meeting (14.30)

8 Senedd Cymru (Electoral Candidate Lists) Bill: Consideration of evidence

(14.30-14.45)